The New Boss Guitar LP OJC 461
  • CAT # OJC-461

    DISC ONE  
    1. Shadow Dancers 4:45
    2. The Sweet Alice Blues 4:37
    3. I Don't Know 6:47
    DISC ONE  
    1. Just Another Sunday 3:03
    2. Will You Still Be Mine? 4:27
    3. Easy Living 6:36
    4. Rock-A-Bye 3:57

George Benson was only 21 when, on May 1, 1964, he recorded his first album as a leader, The New Boss Guitar of George Benson. At that point, the guitarist had yet to become a huge name in jazz, although many of those who knew Benson agreed that he showed great potential. This is an impressive debut. The guitarist had developed a distinctive, recognizable sound on his instrument, and he plays with both feeling and technique on five Benson originals (including the sly "Shadow Dancers," the exuberant 'Rock-A-Bye,' and the earthy blues 'I Don't Know') as well as interpretations of 'Easy Living' and Will You Still Be Mine.' This album is historically important as well as rewarding.

Find out more about George Benson With The Brother Jack McDuff Quartet