Oh Lord, Stand By Me / Marching Up To Zion

Original 5 Blind Boys Of Alabama

Oh Lord Stand By Me Marching Up To Zion
  • CAT # SPCD-7203-25

    1. Oh, Lord, Stand By Me 2:45
    2. You Got To Move 2:29
    3. Lord Have Mercy 2:14
    4. Living For My Jesus 2:28
    5. Precious Lord, Take My Hand 2:48
    6. I'll Fly Away 2:07
    7. This May Be The Last Time 2:30
    8. Alone And Motherless 2:02
    9. Since I Met Jesus 2:41
    10. Our Father's Praying Ground 2:16
    11. Broken Heart Of Mine 2:33
    12. Here I Am 2:25
    13. Marching Up To Zion 1:59
    14. Servant's Prayer Amen 2:07
    15. Count Me In 2:02
    16. When I Lost My Mother 2:47
    17. There Is A Fountain 2:50
    18. I've Been Born Again 2:47
    19. He'll Be There 2:52
    20. Think About Me 2:47
    21. Does Jesus Care 2:42
    22. Fix It Jesus 3:00
    23. Goodbye Mother 2:42
    24. I've Got A Home 2:09

Clarence Fountain's group of vocalists, originally drawn from the ranks of Alabama's Talladega Institute for the Deaf and Blind Glee Club in 1937, were billed alternately as the Happyland Singers and as the Original Five Blind Boys of Alabama at the time they joined Specialty in 1952, though the former designation was soon dropped. Fountain is one of gospel's preeminent housewreckers, a show-stopping firebrand who interjects one emotionally devastating scream after another into his urgent musical testimonies. Also featured on these two dozen essential Blind Boys sides from 1952-57 are the bluesy baritone vocals and slashing lead guitar of George Scott, as well as the emotion-rattling voices of the reverends Paul Exkano, Samuel K. Lewis, George W. Warren, and Percell Perkins.

Find out more about Original 5 Blind Boys Of Alabama


The Five Blind Boys of Alabama, led by the charismatic Clarence Fountain, have recently taken their fervent quartet-style gospel sounds beyond… More