Perfect Peterson: The Best Of The Pablo And Telarc Recordings

Oscar Peterson

Perfect Peterson The Best Of The Pablo And Telarc  MP3
  • CAT # PACD2-30078-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Tenderly 3:30
    2. How High The Moon 3:23
    3. Nuages 7:56
    4. Blues Etude 5:16
    5. Caravan 4:00
    6. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You 4:22
    7. Summertime 7:45
    8. If I Were A Bell 4:02
    9. (Back Home Again In) Indiana 3:12
    10. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You) 3:45
    11. Nigerian Marketplace 7:16
    12. On The Trail 7:00
    DISC TWO  
    1. Honeysuckle Rose 8:51
    2. Kelly's Blues 12:27
    3. Wheatland 8:52
    4. In A Mellow Tone 4:53
    5. Tin Tin Deo 5:47
    6. Nighttime 8:50
    7. Reunion Blues 6:35
    8. Satin Doll 8:31
    9. Ja-da 7:28
    10. Morning In Newfoundland 3:53

In 1956, the year the peerless improvising pianist Art Tatum died, tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins made a masterpiece of an album titled Saxophone Colossus. For the past half-century, Oscar Peterson (b. 1925; Montreal) has been the jazz world’s undisputed colossus of the grand piano.

Although two of his contemporaries, Bud Powell (1924-1966) and Bill Evans (1929-1980) may have been more influential, Peterson has, since Tatum’s passing, played his chosen instrument with greater brio, velocity, two-handed power, tonal brilliance, accuracy, and sheer virtuosity than anyone in his field. Or maybe in any field. When a Peterson-led group settles into a groove, it is as deep as anything ever dug by a bulldozer. Important though they were, and forever will be, Powell’s and Evans’s respective styles (the former’s knife-edged lines in the right hand, the latter’s twilight chordal voicings in the left) are easier to appropriate than Peterson’s. His attack, like Tatum’s, is sui generis. No one has treated the piano more pianistically than Tatum or Peterson…

…As Herb Ellis has said, “You see, most piano players end where he starts.”

First ever 2-CD collection spotlighting the best of both the legendary pianist’s Pablo and Telarc recordings. Includes the first-ever CD release of a phenomenal solo piano performance of “(Back Home Again In) Indiana” Liner notes by James Isaacs Featured artists include Count Basie, Louis Bellson, Ray Brown, Benny Carter, Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, Herb Ellis, Dizzy Gillespie, Stephane Grappelli, Roy Hargrove, Milt Jackson, Joe Pass, Clark Terry, and others.

Find out more about Oscar Peterson


Oscar Peterson and his six-piece combo are all business on Peterson's 1995 Christmas recording, extolling the virtues of Peterson's intelligent… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
A project that focuses on the hauntingly beautiful ballads written by Oscar Peterson during the past ten years. More
with Sam Jones, Louis Hayes, Bobby Durham, Clark Terry, Joe Pass, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Martin Drew, David Young, Dizzy Gillespie… More
Recorded on July 22, 1998 to a capacity crowd at the Munchen Philharmonika, Telarc captures Oscar's only European concert of 1998, with four of… More
To observe that Oscar Peterson (b. 1925) was in particularly exceptional form on the evening of July 13, 1980 at the Northsea Jazz Festival in… More
With the release of this three-CD set, Telarc launches a new series of specially packaged essential jazz listening for the '90s. This set… More
Capturing an evening of straightahead jazz performances reminiscent of the historic 1945 Town Hall concert, A Tribute to Oscar Peterson… More
with Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Jake Hanna Recorded November 17, 1974. More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
Dimensions is an ideal title for this four-CD set, for few improvising artists’ careers have been more multidimensional than Oscar… More
with John Heard, Louis Bellson Recorded October 21, 1978. More