Pictures Of The Floating World

Yolanda Kondonassis

Pictures Of The Floating World
  • CAT # 80488-25

    1. Trad. Chinese Folksong: Small River Flowing 2:33
    2. Tournier: Vers la source dans le bois (By the Brook in the Woods) 4:25
    3. Debussy: En Bateau (On the Boat) 4:28
    4. Miyagi: Haru No Umi (Ocean in Springtime) 8:08
    5. Hasselmans: La Source (The Brook) 3:56
    6. Kondonassis: Liquid Shadows (1997) 5:32
    7. Debussy: La Cathedrale engloutie (The Sunken Cathedral) 6:54
    8. Rochberg: Ukiyo-E (Pictures of the Floating World) 12:42
    9. Ibert: Reflets dans l'eau (Reflections in the Water) 5:37
"An absolutely gorgeous program…if your hair doesn't stand on end, you're shaving too close." —New York Daily News

For her fifth Telarc recording, talented young harpist Yolanda Kondonassis has chosen an unusual collection of pieces from Asia, France, and America (including the premiere of her own composition, Liquid Shadows), all having to do with the power, mystery and beauty of water.

“I still remember the first time I heard Debussy’s La Mer as a child,” she said. “I was completely captivated by the idea that music could so vividly depict images and experiences. The process of developing and recording this program...allowed me to explore and expand upon many ways in which harp translates sound into imagery.”

Many of the works on the recording were originally written for other instruments and have been arranged or transcribed for harp by Kondonassis. The title work on the album, Rochberg’s Ukiyo-E (Pictures of the Floating World), is one of three separate compositions by that title, and the only one of the three the composer wrote for solo harp. It was written for harpist Marcella de Cray in 1973.

The winner of numerous prizes and domestic and international competitions, Kondonassis is an extremely active teacher and performer, both as a soloist and a chamber musician.

Find out more about Yolanda Kondonassis


Now available in 2-channel stereo SACD as well as the CD recording!

Since making Scintillation (CD-80361), her first highly… More


Yolanda Kondonassis Premieres the Music of Bright Sheng with The San Diego Symphony and Conductor Jahja Ling More
Telarc Releases Yolanda Kondonassis' Air, Featuring Music of Debussy and Takemits More
Hailed by the New York Times for her “powerful playing”, Yolanda Kondonassis is one of the world’s preeminent performers of the… More
Slow down and take a momentary pause, compliments of Telarc. Breathe: The Relaxing Harp, the fourth in a series of wonderful relaxing… More
From the opening of Debussy's "En Bateau (from Petite Suite)" to the close of "Sarabande," this recording showcases the pure artistry of Yolanda… More
With her tenth Telarc release entitled The Romantic Harp, Yolanda Kondonassis explores the ideas of romance including passion, flirtation… More
Telarc presents the year's most beautiful wedding collection—classical pieces specially selected for the contemporary wedding ceremony. Music… More
Acclaimed harpist Yolanda Kondonassis performs music specially selected to evoke a continuous mood of serenity, in a concept recording created to… More
Acknowledged as one of America's foremost harpists, exclusive Telarc artist Yolanda Kondonassis is showcased in an all-Hovhaness disc that… More
Telarc presents a warm, inviting collection of best-loved carols from Yolanda Kondonassis arranged for harp sure to become a holiday classic. More
Since her debut at age eighteen with the New York Philharmonic, the young American harpist Yolanda Kondonassis has quickly emerged as one of the… More
"With A New Baroque, Kondonassis shows that she possesses that rare combination of artistic passion and careful shcolarship that is… More