Ray Bryant Trio

  • CAT # OJCCD-936-2

    1. D.b. Blues 5:10
    2. One O'clock Jump 3:13
    3. Milestones 2:26
    4. Undecided 5:29
    5. In Walked Bud 6:10
    6. In A Mellow Tone (instrumental) 6:45
    7. My One And Only Love 7:50
    8. A Night In Tunisia 3:51

Ray Bryant's sources are wide and deep. His art has roots in the Swing Era, bebop, and the gospel music of his youth. In the mid-1950s, he not only played key sideman roles in important recordings by Jo Jones, Miles Davis, and Sonny Rollins, but turned up on albums and concerts by leading gospel figures of the day. By the end of the decade, as a solo performer and the leader of a successful trio, he became one of the most respected pianists in jazz. His hit recording, "Little Susie," put him into the public consciousness for a time and he followed it up with a series of albums designed to recapture that pop success. At bottom, though, Bryant is a dyed-in-the-wool jazzman. This 1980 trio album is typical of the range of his repertoire and of his command of the piano.

D.B. Blues, One O'Clock Jump, Milestones, Undecided, In Walked Bud, In a Mellow Tone, My One and Only Love, A Night in Tunisia

with Jimmy Rowser, Mickey Roker

Find out more about Ray Bryant Trio


Ray Bryant is a complete modern jazz musician, capable of moving in the fastest company and meeting the most complex harmonic challenges. Yet his… More
Having made a good impression in 1955 with his playing on Miles Davis Quintet/Sextet (OJCCD-012-2) and then on an Epic LP, in 1957 Ray… More