Queen Of The Organ: Memorial Album

Shirley Scott

Queen Of The Organ Memorial Album
  • CAT # PRCD-11027-25

    1. It Could Happen To You 6:37
    2. The Chef 6:01
    3. Caravan 4:00
    4. Fourmost 5:21
    5. Night Time Is The Right TIme 4:19
    6. Person To Person 3:03
    7. The Moon Of Manakoora 7:04
    8. Sonnymoon For Two 9:06
    9. Travelin' Light 6:08
    10. Blue Seven 11:17
    11. Senor Blues 2:24
    12. Soul Shoutin' 5:42
    13. Solar 5:07
    14. Five Spot After Dark 5:32

with Mildred Anderson, Kenny Burrell, Arnett Cobb, Bob Cranshaw, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, George Duvivier, Arthur Edgehill, Otis Finch, Coleman Hawkins, Roy Haynes, Wendell Marshall, Peck Morrison, Oliver Nelson, Joe Newman, Jerome Richardson, Al Smith, Buddy Tate, Stanley Turrentine, Lem Winchester, and others

Recorded between 1958 and 1964.

Find out more about Shirley Scott


Shirley Scott was one of the Prestige family's most widely recorded artists, and for good reason: the organ's popularity was peaking during her… More
Shirley Scott’s recordings for Prestige tended to feature her organ without horns, or with tenor saxophonist Stanley Turrentine (her husband… More
Few organ players can kick into swinging grooves with as relaxed a feeling as those Shirley Scott generates on these two outstanding sessions from… More
During the forty-plus years in which the art of jazz organ has been dominated by Jimmy Smith and his army of disciples, Shirley Scott stood out… More
Shirley Scott, the queen of jazz organ (fellow Philadelphian Jimmy Smith, a major influence, is, of course, the once and future king), began her… More