Right On Brother [Rudy Van Gelder Remasters]

Boogaloo Joe Jones

Right On Brother Rudy Van Gelder Remasters
  • CAT # PRCD-30659-25

    1. Right On 5:40
    2. Things Ain't What They Used To Be 7:00
    3. Poppin' 6:03
    4. Someday We'll Be Together 6:45
    5. Brown Bag 5:05
    6. Let It Be Me 5:29
    7. Right On (Single Version) 3:03
    8. Someday We'll Be Together (Single Version) 2:22

A mostly original program of solid, relaxed, and funky soul jazz on this 1969 date, which also features Rusty Bryant on sax and Bernard Purdie behind the drums. --All Music Guide

Features the BONUS TRACKS "Right On (single version)" and "Someday We’ll Be Together (single version)."

A Note From Rudy Van Gelder:

"I was the engineer on the recording sessions and I also made the masters for the original LP issues of these albums. Since the advent of the CD, other people have been making the masters. Mastering is the final step in the process of creating the sound of the finished product. Now, thanks to the folks at the Concord Music Group who have given me the opportunity to remaster these albums, I can present my versions of the music on CD using modern technology. I remember the sessions well, I remember how the musicians wanted to sound, and I remember their reactions to the playbacks. Today, I feel strongly that I am their messenger." --Rudy Van Gelder

Find out more about Boogaloo Joe Jones


To help offset confusion with the drummers Papa Jo Jones and Philly Joe Jones, Prestige producer Bob Porter dubbed the New Jersey guitarist Joe… More
Known as "Joe" to his friends, guitarist Ivan Joseph Jones was nicknamed "Boogaloo" not only to help distinguish him from the… More