Route 66: That Nelson Riddle Sound

Erich Kunzel & Cincinnati Pops Orchestra

Route 66 That Nelson Riddle Sound
  • CAT # 80532-25

    1. Night and Day 3:55
    2. Zing Went the Strings (of My Heart) 3:27
    3. September in the Rain 3:19
    4. You and the Night and the Music 3:36
    5. I've Got You Under My Skin 3:43
    6. Let's Face the Music and Dance 2:28
    7. Summer Wind 2:43
    8. I Get Along Without You Very Well 3:16
    9. Nice 'N' Easy 2:42
    10. The Lady is a Tramp 3:20
    11. Get Happy 2:50
    12. What's New 4:21
    13. I'll Get By (As Long As I Have You) 2:50
    14. Let Yourself Go! 3:20
    15. You Are My Lucky Star 2:29
    16. Lisbon Antigua (In Old Lisbon) 2:25
    17. Brother John 2:32
    18. Route 66 2:05

Now available in discrete multi-channel surround SACD as well as the CD recording!

On Route 66: That Nelson Riddle Sound, Riddle’s music so suits the Cincinnati Pops Big Band Orchestra that it almost seems as if he’d been writing for them all along. Guided by conductor Erich Kunzel, they interpret these familiar pieces as instrumental works with great panache and detail, creating handsome settings for special guest soloists. This new Telarc recording is also a tribute to Riddle’s work with Frank Sinatra, and features many of the tunes that helped make them one of the most celebrated collaborations in music history.

This release highlights all the important phases of Nelson Riddle’s career, including “Route 66,” “Night and Day,” “Zing Went the Strings (of My Heart),” “Let Yourself Go!,” “Let’s Face the Music and Dance,” “You and the Night and the Music,” “Get Happy” and other signature pieces. Route 66: That Nelson Riddle Sound also features classic songs associated with Frank Sinatra, particularly “What’s New,” “The Lady is a Tramp,” “Nice ‘N’ Easy,” I Get Along Without You Very Well” and “September in the Rain.”

Using all new orchestrations, creative guest improvisers like Randy Sandke, Ken Peplowski, Jim Pugh and David Edwards replace the vocals with brass and reed solos. Route 66: That Nelson Riddle Sound also showcases the terrific work of Mike Berkowitz, who drummed extensively for Riddle. With liner notes written by Will Friedwald, author of Jazz Singing and Sinatra! The Song Is You, this new release is the follow-up to Kunzel and the Pops’ Big Band Hit Parade (CD-80177), which enjoyed 47 weeks on the Billboard Classical Crossover chart, eventually hitting #3.

Cincinnati Pops Orchestra conductor Erich Kunzel, the most successful Billboard Classical Crossover artist in history, has recorded with 20th century legends of American music Duke Ellington, Rosemary Clooney, Mel Tormé, Cab Calloway, Dave Brubeck, Gerry Mulligan and Doc Severinsen. His recordings have borne the distinctive voices of Katherine Hepburn, James Earl Jones and Carol Channing as well as narration by icons Gene Autry, Johnny Bench, Leonard Nimoy and Roy Rogers.

Erich Kunzel’s discography reads like a course in American popular music. He has recorded Broadway show tunes, big band music, Hollywood hits, gospel songs, Latin compositions, baseball tunes, pops standards, music from Disney films, and works by George Gershwin, Aaron Copland, Irving Berlin, Ferde Grofé, Stephen Foster, John Williams, Rodgers and Hammerstein, Lerner and Loewe, as well as masterworks by Tchaikovsky, Moussorgsky, Verdi and the Strauss family.

Find out more about Erich Kunzel & Cincinnati Pops Orchestra


Late in his brilliant career, Miklos Rozsa had begun rearranging portions of his scores to Ben-Hur, Quo Vadis and King of Kings as choral suites. More


Erich Kunzel and The Cincinnati Pops Orchestra Celebrate Great Film Music on Vintage Cinema More
Cincinnati Pops' Telarc Release, Bolero, Takes Listeners on a Breathtaking Musical Journey More
Tchaikovsky's perennial holiday favorite- a sparkling recording of all the best-loved highlights from the ballet. More
The magic of Vienna's Strauss family is captured here in a collection of waltzes, polkas and marches. These light orchestral pieces will have you… More
Masters and Commanders, the newest release by Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra on the Grammy Award-winning Telarc label, is a… More
Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops along with special guest Frankie Laine perform Western favorites including themes from "Rawhide", "Bonanza"… More
Journey into the Rich Music of Russia with Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati PopsKunzel and the Pops' 83rd Telarc recording evokes the… More
The New Classical Feel-good Album Of The Year! 44 Familiar Favorites In A Seamless Stream Of Spectacular Sound More
This holiday season, hop aboard Maestro Erich Kunzel’s one-horse open sleigh for an unforgettable salute to Christmas past and present… More
For many of us, the silver screen is a window into an imaginary life. Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra tap into this big-screen… More
Need a great gift for someone special, or your boss or that person who has everything? Telarc has the answer: The Ultimate Movie Music… More
Editor's Choice from Gramophone Magazine (November 2005) Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra stirring renditions of Howard Hanson's… More