Rusty Bryant Returns

Rusty Bryant

Rusty Bryant Returns MP3
  • CAT # OJCCD-331-25

    1. Zoo Boogaloo 2:02
    2. The Cat 7:49
    3. Ready Rusty? 4:46
    4. Streak O'Lean 5:56
    5. Night Flight 7:53
    6. All Day Long 9:39

When Bob Weinstock got around to revitalizing his soul-jazz roster in the late Sixties, Lou Donaldson's amplified alto sax sound was often on his mind. Donaldson had scored a number of hits (on Blue Note) with the alto/organ sound. Thus this album featuring Colombus native Rusty Bryant, a veteran on R&B tenor, in his only all-alto LP! His career indeed took off, and he went on to record a lot of fine music for Prestige during 1968-74.

Zoo Boogaloo, The Cat, Ready Rusty?, Streak O' Lean, Night Flight, All Day Long

with Sonny Phillips, Billy Butler, Bob Bushnell, Frankie Jones, Buddy Caldwell

Find out more about Rusty Bryant


Alto and tenor saxophonist Rusty Bryant's gifts for what we'll call "multi-crossover" are readily apparent from the two early- to… More
Royal G. "Rusty" Bryant (1929-91) was the king of the Columbus, Ohio tenor saxophonists and the bandleader who gave vocalist Nancy… More
Acid jazz, as we know it today, was in large part the creation of Bob Porter. The producer's primary contribution to the genre was in hiring two… More