Mr. Big Stuff

Jean Knight

Mr Big Stuff
  • CAT # SCD-8554-25

    1. Mr. Big Stuff 2:31
    2. A Little Bit Of Something (Is Better Than All Of Nothing) 3:28
    3. Don't Talk About Jody 2:43
    4. Think It Over 4:47
    5. Take Him (You Can Have My Man) 2:30
    6. You City Slicker 2:52
    7. Why I Keep Living These Memories 3:02
    8. Call Me Your Fool If You Want To 3:04
    9. One-Way Ticket To Nowhere (It's The End Of The Ride) 4:29
    10. Your Six-Bit Change 2:36
    11. Do Me 2:49
    12. Helping Man 2:53
    13. Carry On 2:55
    14. Save The Last Kiss For Me 3:24
    15. Pick Up The Pieces 3:06
    16. You Think You're Hot Stuff 2:30

New Orleans vocalist Jean Knight was earning her living baking cakes and biscuits at a Catholic women's college when she traveled to Malaco Studios in Jackson, Mississippi in May 1970 to cut "Mr. Big Stuff" for veteran Crescent City producer-arranger Wardell Quezerque. The single, with its tightly locked, uniquely syncopated bass-and-drum bottom pumped way up in the mix, was released nearly a year later by Stax. Shooting to No. 1 on the r&b chart (No. 2 pop), it sold 2.7 million copies and stands as the biggest single in the label's history. Knight turned in her apron, headed straight to the Apollo, and has been strutting her soulful stuff ever since. This CD, an expanded version of the original LP, contains all 16 of Knight's classic Malaco-made Stax tracks.

with Wardell Quezerque, Jerry Puckett, William Laverne Robbins, James Carey Stroud

Find out more about Jean Knight