The Essential Little Richard

Little Richard

The Essential Little Richard MP3
  • CAT # SPCD-2154-25

    1. Tutti Frutti 2:52
    2. Long Tall Sally 2:07
    3. Rip It Up 2:20
    4. Jenny Jenny 2:00
    5. Good Golly, Miss Molly 2:38
    6. Ready Teddy 2:05
    7. Slippin' And Slidin' (Peepin' And Hidin') 2:10
    8. The Girl Can't Help It 2:30
    9. I Got It 2:19
    10. Heeby-Jeebies 2:07
    11. Lucille 2:20
    12. Keep A-Knockin' 2:19
    13. Miss Ann 2:05
    14. Ooh! My Soul 1:50
    15. True Fine Mama 2:25
    16. Directly From My Heart 2:19
    17. Hey-Hey-Hey-Hey 2:05
    18. Send Me Some Lovin' 2:16
    19. Baby Face 2:14
    20. By The Light Of The Silvery Moon 2:04

After years of singing and playing piano everywhere from street corners to church choirs to traveling medicine shows, Little Richard Penniman made a test record of some of his own songs on a home recorder and sent it to Specialty Records in Hollywood.
In spite of the scratchy rendition, I recognized the artistry and uniqueness of Little Richard, and signed him to a recording contract.
Even though Little Richard fulfilled only about one year of his contract because he claimed he was entering the ministry, the recordings he did make made musical history. His style, mannerisms, and emotional treatment of the lyrics were the model for most rock ’n’ roll performers from then through today. Indeed, most musical critics and knowledgeable collectors concede that Little Richard was an originator and the greatest contributor to contemporary music. --Art Rupe

Find out more about Little Richard


This debut album from Little Richard, newly re-issued on vinyl, was the highest charting album of his career, and contains two of his biggest… More
Original album placed #50 in Rolling Stone’s Greatest Albums of All Time. More
Specialty Records (now owned by Concord Music Group) proudly presents The Very Best of Little Richard, a comprehensive 25-track compilation, and… More