Schumann: Symphony No. 1 "Spring" & Symphony No. 4

David Zinman & Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Schumann Symphony No 1 Spring Symphony No 4
  • CAT # 80230-25

    1. Symphony No. 1: I. Andante un poco maestoso - Allegro molto vivace 11:11
    2. Symphony No. 1: II. Larghetto 6:30
    3. Symphony No. 1: III. Scherzo: Molto vivace; Trio I: Molto piu vivace; Trio II 5:43
    4. Symphony No. 1: IV. Allegro animato e grazioso 8:29
    5. Symphony No. 4: I. Ziemlich langsam - Lebhaft 11:01
    6. Symphony No. 4: II. Romanze: Ziemlich langsam 4:14
    7. Symphony No. 4: III. Scherzo: Lebhaft; Trio; Langsam 6:45
    8. Symphony No. 4: IV. Lebhaft 8:30

"Zinman's reading of the 'Spring' Symphony is the finest moment in his cycle." —Fanfare

In their third release for Telarc, Maestro David Zinman and the Baltimore Symphony present a pairing of two symphonies that creates a rich variety of orchestral expression for the listener. Symphony No. 1 exhibits a masterful combination of lyricism and passion, while the Fourth Symphony remains one of the most original compositions of the Romantic Era. In it, Schumann linked all the movements together without pause to produce a striking sense of unification.

Schumann had originally given characteristic titles to the movements of his First Symphony, which he thought of from the outset as a “Spring Symphony.” He suppressed them in the end, however, for fear of creating expectations that his symphony was simply a work of scene-painting.

The First Symphony is comprised of four movements. The opening movement presents two themes, the first appearing in the slow introduction and then developing in the Allegro molto vivace section. The lyrical second movement does not come to a formal ending, but rather segues into the Scherzo. The contrasting Finale displays a striking rhythm and dancelike themes to bring the work to a rousing finish.

Although numbered fourth, the Symphony in D minor was actually the second to be written. Its publication was delayed ten years by revisions that Schumann considered necessary in order to make it accessible to the public, who had given it a cold reception at its premiere in 1841. Because of Schumann’s striking experiments with symphonic unification, the Fourth Symphony is today considered today to be one of the most important contributions to the genre in the Romantic era.

Robert Schumann is known to many classical music listeners for his evocative songs and piano works in which emotions are so finely distilled that they communicate immediately to the audience. This recording demonstrates how he brought the same eloquence to his large orchestral compositions.

Find out more about David Zinman & Baltimore Symphony Orchestra


David Zinman and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra perform Russian works with the finesse and style in spectacular sound. More
"Rachmaninoff's two valedictory orchestral masterpieces receive the most satisfying recorded realization yet..." —Stereo Review More
"Zinman and his players display total mastery of the ebb and flow of the opening movement's complex textures. Zinman's can stand up to them all."… More
"Zinman has built the Baltimore Symphony into a major American ensemble, and here restores the juice—the slashing colors and rhythmic… More
David Zinman conducts the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra in a beautifully detailed performance of the Symphony fantastique of Berlioz along with the… More
"Zinman's Schumann is light and lean." —American Record Guide More
In their fifth Telarc release, Maestro David Zinman and the Baltimore Symphony embark on a series of the orchestral works of Tchaikovsky with this… More
"David Zinman with a keen, bright American orchestra to complement in perhaps the most meticulously detailed performance of them all. 'Nimrod' is… More