See What You Done Done

Baby Tate

See What You Done Done
  • CAT # OBCCD-567-25

    1. See What You Done Done 3:08
    2. Dupree Blue 4:09
    3. What Have I Done To You 2:46
    4. Baby, I'm Going 3:10
    5. Hey Mama, Hey Pretty Girl 2:22
    6. When Your Woman Don't Want You Around 2:45
    7. My Baby Don't Treat Me Kind 2:54
    8. Trucking Them Blues Away 2:12
    9. Baby, You Just Don't Know 3:23
    10. Lonesome Over There 2:26
    11. Thousand Woman Blues 2:46
    12. I Ain't Got No Loving Baby Now 2:36

When producer Kenneth S. Goldstein recorded Charles Henry “Baby” Tate (1919-1972) in 1961 in the Georgia-born singer-guitarist’s home base of Spartanburg, South Carolina, he captured an artist caught in a time warp, largely unaffected by developments in the blues during the previous two decades. Like Blind Boy Fuller (an early associate) and Pink Anderson (a Spartanburg neighbor), Tate specialized in old-time Carolina blues marked by intricate, ragtime-imbued guitar picking. A bricklayer by profession, he performed primarily for family and friends. That homespun ambiance pervades these 12 selections, which comprised Tate’s only album.

Find out more about Baby Tate