Senior Soul / If She Walked Into My Life

Billy Eckstine

Senior Soul If She Walked Into My Life
  • Release Date: 01 May 1995
  • Label: STAX
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # SCD-88023-25

    1. I'll Always Have Faith In You 4:11
    2. A Man Who Sings 3:18
    3. A Song For You 4:39
    4. Thank You For The Moment 4:04
    5. Please Send Me Someone To Love 4:10
    6. Today Was Tomorrow Yesterday 4:23
    7. Don't Lose Faith In Me Lord 3:15
    8. I Believe In Music 3:18
    9. Living Like A Gypsy 2:45
    10. When Something Is Wrong With My... 5:24
    11. The Taste Of My Tears 3:48
    12. Remembering 3:26
    13. I Am Yours 4:40
    14. Maybe This Time 3:51
    15. Sophisticated Lady 4:18
    16. If She Walked Into My Life 3:33
    17. The Very Thought Of You 4:13
    18. Loving Arms 3:06
    19. All In Love Is Fair 3:41
    20. Mister, You've Gone And Got The... 4:36

Billy Eckstine's name may have faded from the charts by the time he cut this material for the Enterprise label, a division of Stax Records, between 1971 and '74. Yet his honey-coated, vibrato-rich baritone had lost none of its sensuous resonance, nor had the vocalist lost touch with the musical times. The 20 tracks herein find Mr. B. giving his trademark treatment to then-current pop and soul hits, as well as to such time-honored tunes as "Please Send Me Someone to Love," "Sophisticated Lady," and "The Very Thought of You." Particularly appealing are his made-in-Memphis readings of Eddie Floyd and Al Bell's "I'll Always Have Faith in You" and Isaac Hayes and David Porter's "When Something Is Wrong with My Baby."

with Raymond Jackson, Bobby Manuel, Marvell Thomas, Leroy Hodges, Al Jackson, Jr., Shirlie Matthews Singers, the Robert Tucker Orchestra

Find out more about Billy Eckstine


Billy Eckstine (1914-1993) was the quintessential bass-baritone crooner, a class act throughout his distinguished career. He also strived to keep… More