Smack Up OJCCD 176 2
  • CAT # OJCCD-176-25

    1. Smack Up 4:13
    2. Las Cuevas De Mario 7:06
    3. A Bit Of Basie 7:23
    4. How Can You Lose 6:52
    5. Maybe Next Year 4:20
    6. Tears Inside 5:00
    7. Solid Citizens (Take 33) 6:28
    8. Solid Citizens (Take 37) 6:29

Art Pepper left a legacy of innumerable appearances on records, but his sessions for Contemporary always seemed to find him in the best company and in the best shape. Here his impassioned alto sax is appropriately applied to the compositions of six saxophonists, among them Benny Carter, Ornette Coleman, and Pepper himself. The presence of Jack Sheldon in a rare performance as a small-group trumpeter was another stimulating factor in the album's success.

with Jack Sheldon, Pete Jolly, Jimmy Bond, Frank Butler

Find out more about Art Pepper Quintet