Song Of The New World

McCoy Tyner

Song Of The New World
  • CAT # OJCCD-618-25

    1. Afro Blue 13:41
    2. Little Brother 10:10
    3. The Divine Love 7:28
    4. Some Day 6:49
    5. Song Of The New World 6:50

Song of the New World represents a point of departure for McCoy Tyner. In previous recordings he had composed and arranged for medium-sized groups with horns. But for this 1973 album he set himself a challenge of considerable complexity, to properly deploy the resources of a big jazz band and, on some tracks, strings and woodwinds. Tyner more than satisfactorily marshalled these large forces, avoiding the pitfalls of either overwhelming his piano or reducing the supporting cast to mere background music. Tyner's approach to orchestration, as to piano playing, is centered in unity, completeness, and uncompromising musicianship.

with Virgil Jones, Cecil Bridgewater, Jon Faddis, Garnett Brown, Dick Griffin, Julius Watkins, Hubert Laws, Sonny Fortune, Bob Stewart, Joony Booth, Alphonse Mouzon, Sonny Morgan, and others

Find out more about McCoy Tyner


This classic trio date captures three luminaries, including bass revolutionary Stanley Clarke and drummer Al Foster, playing eleven tracks of… More


Orrin’s commentary (from his new liner notes): “Although I had been very much impressed by his work with [John Coltrane], listening to… More
Telarc releases McCoy Tyner's finest moments from five stellar recordings. More
Remastered in 24-bit from the original master tapes. Part of our Keepnews Collection, which spotlights classic albums originally produced by the… More
Years before rock guitarists began playing what came to be called “power chords,” a young McCoy Tyner was providing them pianistically… More
McCoy Tyner gave an electrifying concert at the 1978 Live Under the Sky Festival in Tokyo. These recordings, from the same occasion that produced… More
2005 Grammy Award Winner for Best Jazz Instrumental Album, Individual or Group McCoy Tyner, one of the most revered jazz pianists of the past… More
Rhythmically complex and harmonically adventurous, McCoy Tyner's Land of Giants reflects the élan of four master musicians relentlessly… More
McCoy Tyner's adventurous solo tribute to great jazz pianists of the last century. More
with Ron Carter, Tony Williams Recorded at Denen Coliseum, Tokyo, Japan, July 28, 1978. (previously unreleased). More
A sophisticated and much anticipated Latin release from one of modern jazz's most respected and imitated pianists. More
At the time of these live performances (1974), when much of the jazz keyboard world had plugged in, at least part-time, McCoy Tyner's piano… More
This was Tyner's second Milestone album following the 1972 Sahara (which was a recording by his working quartet) and preceding many… More