Soul Of The Conga

Poncho Sanchez

Soul Of The Conga
  • CAT # CCD-4894-25

    1. Joseito 5:26
    2. Oye Lo 4:36
    3. Venga A Bailar Bailadores (Changui) 5:24
    4. Moon Pie 4:48
    5. Haitian Lady 4:21
    6. Cosas Del Alma 5:42
    7. Nengon 5:02
    8. Virtue 4:58
    9. Days Of Wine And Roses 5:11
    10. Fania Fungue (Co Co) 2:57
    11. Stella By Starlight 6:28
    12. Bodacious Q 4:20
    13. Asi Asi 5:02
    14. Rumba De Po-tiz 4:13

Poncho Sanchez celebrates his 20th year as a bandleader with his 20th release, Soul Of The Conga. The veteran conguero's 18th recording for the Concord Picante label features the very popular performer in several different settings and the result is a fast-moving but logical set of 14 highly enjoyable and rhythmically infectious numbers.

Soul Of The Conga features the great organist Joey DeFrancesco as part of Sanchez's band on seven numbers. The first time that Sanchez worked with an organist since he started leading his band was a few months before this recording took place."Joey DeFrancesco was our special guest for a full week at Yoshi's," remembers Sanchez. "He adjusted himself quickly to our Latin groove and he is such a fine musician that it was easy to play with him." DeFrancesco, whose rise to fame in the 1990s helped the Hammond B-3 organ to make a major comeback, clearly inspires Sanchez and his sidemen with his enthusiasm and remarkable technique.

The organist is not the only guest on Soul Of The Conga. "Stella By Starlight" features Terence Blanchard, one of the top trumpeters in jazz. "We appeared at the same festivals a few times and always liked each other's music but had never played together before." In addition, Sanchez has a rare opportunity to explore the early roots of Cuban music during the four numbers in which he interacts with the Five Ortiz Brothers.

Soul Of The Conga is one of the finest examples of Poncho Sanchez's accessible and highly enjoyable music so far, and it truly is music for everybody.

Find out more about Poncho Sanchez


Legendary Percussionist Poncho Sanchez Returns to His Roots With His 24th Concord Picante Release. More
On this, his 22nd album for Concord Picante (since 1982!), conguero par excellence Poncho Sanchez and his legendary band pay homage to some of his… More
More than anything else, Poncho Sanchez is a storyteller. As leader of the most popular Latin jazz group in the world today, his congas and… More
In celebration of Concord Records’ 30th Anniversary, Grammy® Award-winner Poncho Sanchez took to the stage of the legendary Montreux… More
For over twenty-five years, the propulsive, percussive sounds of Latin music legend, Poncho Sanchez, have fueled parties from coast to coast and… More
Grammy® and Billboard® Latin Music Award winner Poncho Sanchez is spotlighted in the ultimate Latin party collection! Laying down the… More
Hailed as "the new king of Latin jazz" by JazzTimes Magazine, Poncho Sanchez has steadily recorded one Latin jazz classic after… More
Combine the rhythms of Cuba, Africa and the Caribbean with the soul of Detroit, Philly and New Orleans, then add the exciting harmonies and… More
The very first two recordings that master conguero PONCHO SANCHEZ made for the Concord Picante label are now brought together in one specially… More
Take fiery Latin rhythms, intriguing jazz harmonies and add a whole lot of raw soul, and you have the unmistakable sound of Poncho Sanchez… More
The latest release from one of the world's most relentlessly exciting Latin jazz bandleaders; finds Poncho Sanchez turning Afro-Cuban… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.