Stax Sings Songs Of Motown® Records

Various Artists

Stax Sings Songs Of Motown Records
  • CAT # STXCD-30391-25

    1. Stop! In The Name Of Love 4:52
    2. I Don't Know Why I Love You 2:59
    3. You've Got To Earn It 3:28
    4. Can I Get A Witness 2:48
    5. Reach Out I'll Be There 4:35
    6. Never Can Say Goodbye 3:36
    7. My Cherie Amour 3:23
    8. Oh, Be My Love 2:45
    9. I Hear A Symphony 2:13
    10. Chained [Alternate Take] 3:18
    11. Ask The Lonely 3:31
    12. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours 3:20
    13. Someday We'll Be Together 4:40
    14. I Wish It Would Rain 2:52
    15. I Heard It Through The Grapevine 12:08

Stax artists have long found much inspiration from within the repertoire of its Detroit rival label, Motown, proven by the 15 tracks of Stax Sings Songs of Motown® Records. Joel Selvin, pop music critic for the San Francisco Chronicle, who wrote the notes for the Motown covers album, noted: "In Detroit, Motown followed an automated approach to making records, influenced no doubt by founder Berry Gordy's early work at the Ford plant, while in Memphis, the Stax musicians took a more organic tack."

Yet when the shimmering teen pop of Detroit made it down to Stax's Memphis studios, songs found a whole new life. Take, for instance, Margie Joseph's soulful reading of the Supremes' "Stop in the Name of Love." The Staple Singers' version of the Temptations' minor hit, "You've Got To Earn It," penned by Smokey Robinson, narrowly missed the R&B Top 10 in 1971. And blind soul singer Calvin Scott gave a gospel-tinged Southern workout to "Can I Get a Witness" for his album I'm Not Blind, I Just Can't See.

As he did with the Beatles, Isaac Hayes re-imagined Motown with his deconstructed cover of the Jackson 5's "Never Can Say Goodbye." The song was a highlight of Hayes' classic Black Moses album from 1971. Hayes also contributed production finesse to his frequent songwriting partner David Porter's cover of the Stevie Wonder song "I Don't Know Why I Love You," featured on Porter's 1970 Enterprise solo debut album.

Other Stax artists to cover Motown included Mavis Staples, Barbara Lewis, Billy Eckstine, the Mar-Keys, Fredrick Knight, O.B. McClinton, the Bar-Kays and the Soul Children.

Find out more about Various Artists


Various Artists

Christmas In Soulsville

Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.

Various Artists

Take Me To The River

Stax Records/Concord Music Group is proud to announce the release of Take Me To the River: Music From The Motion Picture. The companion… More

Various Artists

Sweetheart 2014

Just in time for Valentine's Day comes Sweetheart 2014, a collection of indelible, handpicked covers from a remarkable group of modern… More

Various Artists

A Slow Jams Jazz Christmas

From the original producers of the Slow Jams series comes a traditional take on the romance and splendor of the holiday season… More
Settle around the fireplace this holiday season with Mad Men Christmas: Music from and Inspired by the Hit TV Series on AMC. Produced by… More
The twists and turns of the American political system have long been turned into storied tales of deception, turmoil and mystery chronicling the… More
Star-Studded Cast Includes Elvis Costello, Sheryl Crow, Rosanne Cash, Neko Case, Kris Kristofferson, Dave & Phil Alvin, Taj Mahal, Ryan Bingham… More
Beginning today, the all-star recording of Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hear Music/Concord Music Group), the highly anticipated… More

Various Artists

True Blues

Guy Davis, Shemekia Copeland, Corey Harris, Alvin Youngblood Hart, and Taj Mahal join forces for True Blues, a collaboration of the best blues… More
Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac is a striking 17-track collection of Fleetwood Mac covers from a diverse band of… More
Concord Records will release Smooth Jazz Hits: Ultimate Grooves, the latest installment in the series of smooth jazz… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.