Sunday At The Village Vanguard

The Bill Evans Trio

Sunday At The Village Vanguard MP3 RCD 9376 25
  • CAT # RCD-9376-25

    1. Gloria's Step 6:10
    2. My Man's Gone Now 6:21
    3. Solar 8:57
    4. Alice In Wonderland 8:31
    5. All Of You 8:29
    6. Jade Visions 3:57
    7. Gloria's Step (Take 3) 6:05
    8. Alice In Wonderland 6:57
    9. All Of You 8:14
    10. All Of You 8:18
    11. Jade Visions 4:12

Conventional wisdom, which in this case may be right, holds that Bill Evans' storied career peaked on June 25, 1961, a date that yielded two live records, Sunday at the Village Vanguard and Waltz for Debby, the final two documents of Evans' first, and best, trio, with bassist Scott LaFaro and drummer Paul Motian. In the two years he'd been playing with Evans, LaFaro had opened up new possibilities for the jazz bass, playing with a harmonically oblique, melodically flexible style that was, at the time, unprecedented. Ten days after this record was made he died, just 25 years old.

Sunday at the Village Vanguard may be the ultimate monument to LaFaro's talent; it features two of his compositions, "Gloria's Step" and "Jade Visions," and he plays lengthy and dazzling solos on nearly every track. It's not just LaFaro who was playing well, though — the whole trio was in top form for this date, a delicately balanced unit anchored weightlessly by Motian's ever-shifting, reactive timekeeping, with Evans' limpid, impressionistic harmonies floating above like clouds. There are no missteps in this set, but a highlight is the dark, mournful reading of Gershwin's "My Man's Gone Now." ~ Thomas Bartlett, eMusic

Find out more about The Bill Evans Trio


Concord Music Group is proud to announce the forthcoming vinyl reissue of Bill Evans’ The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961, one of… More
LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Concord Music Group will release five new titles in its Original Jazz Classics Remasters series. Enhanced by 24-bit… More
Concord Music Group is launching five new titles in its Very Best Of jazz series, which showcases some of the very best tracks culled from the… More
Concord Music Group releases three new titles in its Original Jazz Classics Remasters series. Enhanced with 24-bit remastering by Joe Tarantino… More
The second album by the original Bill Evans group was recorded after the pianist, bassist Scott LaFaro, and drummer Paul Motian had spent a year… More
Each title in the series features 24-bit remastering, original AND new liner notes, fully restored artwork, and bonus tracks (when available). More
This is the last album Bill Evans made for his first label. The fact alone would give this at least historical significance; and there is surely… More
The Final Recordings Live at Keystone Korner, September 1980 The Last Waltz is a profoundly… More
The Final Recordings, Part 2: Live at the Keystone Korner, September 1980 … More
Bill Evans (1929-1980) and Stan Getz (1927-1991) were, after Evans's ex-employer Miles Davis, the great romantic improvisers of the postwar era… More
This is the second of two Riverside albums made up of selections recorded by the classic Bill Evans/Scott LaFaro/Paul Motian trio at their… More