Revenge Of Blind Joe Death: The John Fahey Tribute Album

Various Artists

Revenge Of Blind Joe Death The John Fahey Tribute
  • CAT # TAKCD-30048-25

    1. Sunflower River Blues 3:11
    2. Sally Goodin 2:42
    3. St. Louis Blues 4:32
    4. The Alligator Walks Sideways On Sunday 2:51
    5. Desperate Man Blues 3:35
    6. Dance Of The Inhabitants Of The Palace Of King Phillip XIV Of Spain 4:06
    7. Sun Gonna Shine On My Mardi Gras 3:35
    8. Thinking Of John Fahey 2:10
    9. In Christ There Is No East Or West 2:05
    10. Joe Kirby Blues 3:04
    11. The Yellow Princess 5:34
    12. Steamboat Gwine ’Round the Bend/How Green Was My Valley 7:09
    13. Red Pony 3:23
    14. Assassination Of John Fahey 4:15
    15. & 50 Cents Gets You A Cup Of Coffee 3:28
    16. Requiem For John Fahey 3:01
    17. Days Have Gone By In The Halls Of Valhalla 2:35
    18. On The Banks Of The Owchita 3:40
    19. Jesus Is A Dying-Bed Maker 3:55
    20. Blind Joe Death 2:24

John Fahey had something to say, and said it with his music. The span of his recording career reflects what his senses took in, and how it affected his life. You can hear the progression from country, blues, original American Primitive Guitar, experimental, raga and beyond.

The purpose of this album is both a tribute to John Fahey’s influence, and also as a fundraising effort to support the MusiCares Foundation, who helps musicians who are in serious financial or medical trouble. ONE OF ACOUSTIC MUSIC’S TRUE INNOVATORS AND ECCENTRICS, John Fahey was a crucial figure in expanding the boundaries of acoustic guitar. He was a cult figure who drew his inspiration from blues, Native American music, Indian raga, experimental dissonance and pop.


*Features tracks by GEORGE WINSTON and COUNTRY JOE MACDONALD, plus 18 other amazing artists.

*This is the first John Fahey tribute to be issued on his home label, TAKOMA RECORDS.

*Album artwork by noted ‘60s underground comic book illustrator TED RICHARDS.

*Liner notes by radio legend BARRY HANSEN (DR. DEMENTO).

Find out more about Various Artists


Various Artists

Christmas In Soulsville

Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.

Various Artists

Take Me To The River

Stax Records/Concord Music Group is proud to announce the release of Take Me To the River: Music From The Motion Picture. The companion… More

Various Artists

Sweetheart 2014

Just in time for Valentine's Day comes Sweetheart 2014, a collection of indelible, handpicked covers from a remarkable group of modern… More

Various Artists

A Slow Jams Jazz Christmas

From the original producers of the Slow Jams series comes a traditional take on the romance and splendor of the holiday season… More
Settle around the fireplace this holiday season with Mad Men Christmas: Music from and Inspired by the Hit TV Series on AMC. Produced by… More
The twists and turns of the American political system have long been turned into storied tales of deception, turmoil and mystery chronicling the… More
Star-Studded Cast Includes Elvis Costello, Sheryl Crow, Rosanne Cash, Neko Case, Kris Kristofferson, Dave & Phil Alvin, Taj Mahal, Ryan Bingham… More
Beginning today, the all-star recording of Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hear Music/Concord Music Group), the highly anticipated… More

Various Artists

True Blues

Guy Davis, Shemekia Copeland, Corey Harris, Alvin Youngblood Hart, and Taj Mahal join forces for True Blues, a collaboration of the best blues… More
Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac is a striking 17-track collection of Fleetwood Mac covers from a diverse band of… More
Concord Records will release Smooth Jazz Hits: Ultimate Grooves, the latest installment in the series of smooth jazz… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.