John Fahey / Peter Lang / Leo Kottke

John Fahey, Peter Lang & Leo Kottke

John Fahey Peter Lang Leo Kottke MP3
  • CAT # TAKCD-6502-25

    1. Cripple Creek 1:50
    2. Ice Miner 1:51
    3. Red And White 1:44
    4. Anyway 2:01
    5. St. Charles Shuffle 2:17
    6. When Kings Come To Town 4:46
    7. As I Lay Sleeping 1:58
    8. Thoth Song 3:11
    9. On The Sunny Side Of The Ocean 4:00
    10. Sunflower River Blues 3:19
    11. Revolt Of The Dyke Brigade 3:00
    12. In Christ There Is No East Or West 2:43

In the 1950s the young John Fahey discovered the funky, unpretentious, down-home, spontaneous guitar-oriented 78s recorded in the late 1920s and early 1930s by rural Southern black and poor white folks. He changed the music to suit his own image of what art should be and created the concept of the solo steel-string guitarist/composer. Leo Kottke built on Fahey's vision, made it more accessible, and proved how large the market could be. In 1974 these two guitar giants, joined by Peter Lang, who proves on these cuts to be a guitarist of equal ability, put out this excellent and influential LP.

Find out more about John Fahey, Peter Lang & Leo Kottke


Guitarist John Fahey's concept of Christmas music was a little different from the norm.

The New Possibility: John Fahey's Guitar Soli… More