Take Twelve

Lee Morgan Quintet

Take Twelve
  • CAT # OJCCD-310-2

    1. Raggedy Ann 6:49
    2. A Waltz For Fran 4:55
    3. Lee-Sure Time 8:30
    4. Little Spain 7:48
    5. Take Twelve 4:57
    6. Second's Best (Take 5) 7:08
    7. Second's Best (Take 1) 7:08

From the first appearances in 1958 as a teen-aged prodigy with Dizzy Gillespie’s big band until his violent death in a dingy New York club in 1972, Lee Morgan exerted a powerful influence on the progress of jazz trumpet. His course was not a smooth or consistent one; there were high-water marks, like his 1958-61 stint with Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers and his full-fledged mid-Sixties hit recording of “The Sidewinder” on Blue Note--but there were also low points. The post-Blakey period during which this album was made for Riverside’s Jazzland label was thought of as a low ebb, but repeated listening has made it clear to many critics that there is a great deal of both strength and imagination in these underrated performances.

with Clifford Jordan, Barry Harris, Bob Cranshaw, Louis Hayes

Find out more about Lee Morgan Quintet