The Freelance Years: The Complete Riverside And Contemporary Recordings

Sonny Rollins

The Freelance Years The Complete Riverside And Con
  • CAT # 5RCD-4427-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Brilliant Corners 7:49
    2. Ba-Lue Bolivar Ba-Lues-Are 13:26
    3. Bemsha Swing 7:53
    4. Pannonica 8:51
    5. I'm An Old Cowhand 5:35
    6. Way Out West 5:57
    7. Come, Gone 7:47
    8. There Is No Greater Love 3:39
    9. Wagon Wheels 10:08
    DISC TWO  
    1. Solitude 8:30
    2. I'm An Old Cowhand [Alternate Take] 5:35
    3. Come, Gone (Alternate Take) 7:47
    4. There Is No Greater Love (Take 2) 3:39
    5. Way Out West (Alternate Take) 5:57
    6. Falling In Love With Love 9:14
    7. My Old Flame 5:25
    1. La Villa 7:02
    2. I'll Remember April 12:07
    3. The Last Time I Saw Paris 2:56
    4. Just In Time 3:59
    5. Toot, Toot, Tootsie 4:20
    6. What Is There To Say 4:52
    7. Dearly Beloved 3:05
    8. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye 3:20
    9. Cutie 5:50
    10. It Could Happen To You 3:47
    11. Mangoes 5:30
    12. Funky Hotel Blues 6:00
    13. Porgy 4:24
    14. I Must Have That Man 3:57
    15. When A Woman Loves A Man 4:25
    1. Strong Man 5:01
    2. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe 3:22
    3. That's Him 3:23
    4. My Man 3:48
    5. Don't Explain 7:10
    6. I Must Have That Man (Take 3) 3:57
    7. Porgy (Take 1) 4:24
    8. Sonnymoon For Two 4:50
    9. Like Someone In Love 3:14
    10. Theme From Tchaikovsky's Pathetique 5:57
    11. Till There Was You (Take 4) 4:59
    12. Someday I'll Find You 4:37
    13. Will You Still Be Mine? 3:00
    14. Shadow Waltz 4:10
    15. Till There Was You (Take 3) 4:59
    1. The Freedom Suite 19:24
    2. I've Told Ev'ry Little Star 5:24
    3. Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody 4:50
    4. How High The Moon 7:41
    5. You 4:14
    6. I Found A New Baby 3:39
    7. Alone Together 6:00
    8. The Song Is You 5:44
    9. In The Chapel In The Moonlight 6:40
    10. You (Alternative Take) 4:14
    11. I Found A New Baby (Alternate Take) 4:25
    12. The Song Is You (Alternate Take) 6:11

With all due respect to the other important tenor saxophonists of the 1950s, Theodore Walter "Sonny" Rollins was the tenor of those times. During the Eisenhower era, Rollins (b. 1930) forged a string of albums that can stand with the sustained work of any major improviser on any instrument. In particular, his recordings for several independent jazz labels, beginning with 1954's Work Time (on Prestige, his most frequent recording affiliation during this period) and culminating with 1958's Sonny Rollins Meets the Contemporary Leaders (originally on the Los Angeles–based Contemporary Records and included herein, it directly preceded his much-discussed two-year sabbatical from public performance), chart his ascendance to greatness.

The 58 selections on these five discs were done between December 1956 and October 1958, an especially fruitful time in Rollins's creative life. That we were witnessing his first golden age was substantiated in a 1996 Village Voice poll of 23 prominent jazz critics, who were asked to select their five favorite Rollins albums. Four of the collective top five were from '56 to '58 and two, Way Out West and Freedom Suite, containing the tenorist's first long-form composition, are part of this package.

Here is the musician sometimes known as "Saxophone Colossus," in studios on both coasts and in consistently, commensurately brilliant company, including Thelonious Monk, Max Roach, Kenny Dorham, Sonny Clark, Clark Terry, Abbey Lincoln, and Ray Brown. All the elements of Rollins's style--the muscular tone and flashing wit, the harmonic acumen and untethered rhythmic sense, the encyclopedic knowledge of popular songs and unaccompanied solos--are here, fully formed.

Four-plus decades after these performances were made, and as he approaches his 70th birthday in the year 2000, Sonny Rollins's inventiveness remains unsurpassed.

Produced by Eric Miller

Find out more about Sonny Rollins


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.


A new phase in Sonny Rollins' career began in 1957. He started what was at the time an almost blasphemous trend of recording for a number of… More
A 120 gram vinyl reissue of the famed jazz album by Sonny Rollins, released in 1956 on Prestige Records. On this album Rollins plays with the… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
The Definitive Sonny Rollins Prestige, Riverside, and Contemporary Recordings Collection. More
24-BIT Remastering Brings New Clarity And Depth To This Classic Sonny Rollins Recording More
The Rudy Van Gelder remaster of the Movin’ Out presented by Prestige Records. More
Released 1982 on Milestone Records. More
The Concord Music Group presents its 11th Edition of classic Prestige Records RVG Remasters. More
The timeless Way out West established Sonny Rollins as jazz's top tenor saxophonist (at least until John Coltrane surpassed him the following… More
Orrin’s commentary (from his original liner notes): "Because Sonny Rollins is as passionate, talented, multifaceted and variable as this… More
VINYL EDITION! One of the pivotal recordings in bringing about the widespread acceptance of Sonny Rollins as a major figure, Saxophone… More
The tracks on this album present the saxophone virtuoso Sonny Rollins in a variety of settings. More