The Greeting

McCoy Tyner

The Greeting MP3
  • CAT # OJCCD-1080-25

    1. Hand In Hand 6:14
    2. Fly With The Wind 14:51
    3. Pictures 7:54
    4. Naima 6:39
    5. The Greeting 8:54

McCoy Tyner's ability to captivate and energize an audience is well known to those who have heard him in person. This 1978 recording from San Francisco's Great American Music Hall captures the excitement Tyner generates when he, his musicians and his audience are on the same wavelength. With a staff of adventurous sidemen and a house full of receptive listeners, Tyner succeeds at the risk-taking that makes jazz at its best so rewarding. "Fly with the Wind," familiar from its studio version (OJC-699), soars into a new dimension. Saxophonist-flutists George Adams and Joe Ford, bassist Charles Fambrough, and the formidable percussion section of Woody Theus and Guilherme Franco perform throughout at the high level inspired by Tyner. In one of his most searching interpretations of John Coltrane's "Naima," the pianist provides solo contrast to the collective intensity.

with George Adams, Joe Ford, Charles Fambrough, Sonship (Woody Theus), Guilherme Franco

Find out more about McCoy Tyner


This classic trio date captures three luminaries, including bass revolutionary Stanley Clarke and drummer Al Foster, playing eleven tracks of… More


Orrin’s commentary (from his new liner notes): “Although I had been very much impressed by his work with [John Coltrane], listening to… More
Telarc releases McCoy Tyner's finest moments from five stellar recordings. More
Remastered in 24-bit from the original master tapes. Part of our Keepnews Collection, which spotlights classic albums originally produced by the… More
Years before rock guitarists began playing what came to be called “power chords,” a young McCoy Tyner was providing them pianistically… More
McCoy Tyner gave an electrifying concert at the 1978 Live Under the Sky Festival in Tokyo. These recordings, from the same occasion that produced… More
2005 Grammy Award Winner for Best Jazz Instrumental Album, Individual or Group McCoy Tyner, one of the most revered jazz pianists of the past… More
Rhythmically complex and harmonically adventurous, McCoy Tyner's Land of Giants reflects the élan of four master musicians relentlessly… More
McCoy Tyner's adventurous solo tribute to great jazz pianists of the last century. More
with Ron Carter, Tony Williams Recorded at Denen Coliseum, Tokyo, Japan, July 28, 1978. (previously unreleased). More
A sophisticated and much anticipated Latin release from one of modern jazz's most respected and imitated pianists. More
At the time of these live performances (1974), when much of the jazz keyboard world had plugged in, at least part-time, McCoy Tyner's piano… More
This was Tyner's second Milestone album following the 1972 Sahara (which was a recording by his working quartet) and preceding many… More