The Music Of Agustin Barrios Mangore

David Russell

The Music Of Agustin Barrios Mangore
  • CAT # 80373-25

    1. Un Sueno en la Floresta 7:11
    2. Gavota Madrigal 3:16
    3. Danza Paraguaya No. 1 1:54
    4. Danza Paraguaya No. 2: "Jha, Che Valle!" 1:55
    5. Danza Paraguaya No. 3: London Carape 1:35
    6. Julia Florida 4:10
    7. Vals, Op. 8, No. 3 4:05
    8. Vals de Primavera 4:32
    9. Vals Tropical 2:21
    10. Vals, Op. 8, No. 4 3:48
    11. Las Abejas 1:41
    12. Fabiniana 3:00
    13. Mazurka Apasionata 3:49
    14. Pais de Abanico 2:57
    15. Cueca 3:39
    16. La Cathedral: I. Preludio (Saudade) 2:02
    17. La Cathedral: II. Andante religioso 1:42
    18. La Cathedral: III. Allegro solemne 3:05
    19. A Mi Madre 5:12
    20. Caazapa 3:54
    21. Una Limosna por el Amor de Dios 3:19

Listen to renowned classical guitarist David Russell perform magical interpretations of guitarist and composer Agustin Barrios Mangoré. A Barrios authority, Mr. Russell brings these expressive turn-of-the-century Latin works into a graceful and exacting technique which is wrapped in a smooth, rich sound.

The twenty-one pieces on this CD give an overview of Barrios’ music unmatched on any recording. They vividly portray scenes of barrios’ Latin America of the late 1800’s and early 1900’s. La Cathedral, a three-movement work, takes the listener into a beautiful cathedral where the organist is playing Bach. From this sanctuary, the listener, once again, is forced to enter the streets of the temporal world. This recording also contains Vals Tropical. Discovered in El Salvador, this elegant waltz received its world premier on this recording. Three other waltzes follow; Vals de Primavera and Vals Op. 8, No. 3 and 4.

The remaining works on this release cover a wide range of musical expressionism. Una Limosna por el Amor de Dios, Barrios’ last major piece, is perhaps the greatest tremolo study ever written. Un Sueño en la Floresta is a a Romantic tour de force which incorporates an unheard high C on the first string, and Las Abejas is one of the finest arpeggio studies for guitar. Russell also performed in the intensely passionate Mazurka Apasionata and three dances based on Paraguayan rhythms and themes—Danza Paraguaya, Jha Che Valle and London Carapé.

Find out more about David Russell


2012 release from the Grammy-winning Classical guitarist. In a return to baroque, the repertoire that David Russell is best known for, The… More
David Russell Records Music Of Isaac Albéniz For Telarc. More
David Russell discovers the soul of Spanish music on Sonidos Latinos. More
David Russell Records First Disc of Solo Contemporary Works For David includes compositions by Sergio Assad, Steve Goss, Francis… More
GRAMMY® Award-winning guitarist David Russell returns with Air on a G String, baroque masterpieces by Bach, Couperin, Saint-Luc, and Weiss… More
GRAMMY AWARD WINNER DAVID RUSSELL SHINES ON ART OF THE GUITAR GRAMMY Award winning guitarist David Russell is a world-class… More
GRAMMY-award winning classical guitarist David Russell takes listeners on a captivating journey back to the Renaissance period with Renaissance… More
Celebrating his tenth anniversary with Telarc, David Russell brings the mythology of Spain and its rich musical tradition to life in this tribute… More
Aire Latino, a collection of Latin American music for guitar performed by David Russell, brings together some of the most characteristic… More
Today, more than two and a half centuries after Bach’s passing, lute players are all but extinct—even in classical music circles. But… More
Renowned classical guitarist David Russell brings passion and style to an all-Spanish program for Telarc, which features some of the best-loved… More
Renowned classical guitarist David Russell makes his first all-baroque recording for Telarc, with his own completely new transcriptions and… More