The Ozell Tapes: The Official Bootleg - Live

Marcus Miller

The Ozell Tapes The Official Bootleg Live
  • Release Date: 22 Apr 2003
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83582-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Intro (by Big Doug Epting) 1:07
    2. Power 6:00
    3. So What 8:54
    4. Lonnie's Lament 10:53
    5. Cousin John 10:42
    6. Scoop 12:28
    7. I Loves You Porgy 9:28
    8. Panther 11:22
    DISC TWO  
    1. 3 Deuces 6:24
    2. Your Amazing Grace 10:43
    3. Nikki's Groove 5:10
    4. When Your Life Was Low 8:08
    5. Burning Down the House 6:34
    6. People Make The World Go 'Round 11:08
    7. Killing Me Softly 6:44
    8. Miles/Marcus Medley 19:11

Following the success of bassist extraordinaire Marcus Miller’s M2, Grammy Award-winning Best Contemporary Jazz Album of 2001 and one of the most critically acclaimed recordings of the year, Telarc and 3 Deuces Records proudly announce the release of The Ozell Tapes: The Official Bootleg. This live double album, the artist’s compilation of the best of his 2002 tour dates, is raw, real and the next best thing to being there.

This latest recording from the award-winning producer/composer/bassist brings new life and pure, unadulterated Marcus Miller funk to sixteen songs ranging from Miller’s own “Power,” “Scoop,” “Nikki’s Groove” and “Panther,” to classics like Miles Davis’ “So What,” John Coltrane’s “Lonnie’s Lament,” Roberta Flack’s “Killing Me Softly,” George Gershwin’s “I Loves You, Porgy,” Talking Heads’ “Burning Down the House,” “Amazing Grace” and the Marcus Miller-composed Miles Davis standard “Tutu.”

The Ozell Tapes: The Official Bootleg features the multi-talented Miller on bass guitar, fretless bass guitar, bass clarinet and soprano sax. Accompanying musicians include Poogie Bell (drums), Dean Brown (guitar), Roger Byam (tenor and alto sax, flute), Bruce Flowers (keyboards), Lalah Hathaway (special guest vocalist), Patches Stewart (trumpet) and Leroy Taylor (keyboards). No remixes, no overdubbing, just great music right from the original board tapes.

“There’s always somebody sneaking recording equipment into our shows and releasing unauthorized CDs. This time, I decided to beat the pirates to the punch!” says Miller. “If you caught our show this year, this will definitely put you back in the vibe. If you enjoyed M2, I think it’ll be really interesting for you to hear how the tunes from that CD have matured and changed on the road. And if this is the first time you’re hearing us live, enjoy the ride!”

Miller continues to redefine the landscape of music with the release of his second project with Telarc. For all the die-hard fans who’ve clamored so long, the wait ends with The Ozell Tapes: The Official Bootleg.

Find out more about Marcus Miller


An album entitled Renaissance is long overdue for the widely acclaimed Renaissance Man Marcus Miller. More
Inside of perhaps the most enviable career in all of music, two-time Grammy┬« Award-winner Marcus Miller has been the composer/producer of eight… More
On the Grammy award-winning M2 ("M-squared"), Marcus Miller deepens the groove of jazz in the new century. More