The Soul Explosion

Illinois Jacquet

The Soul Explosion
  • CAT # OJCCD-674-25

    1. The Soul Explosion 9:18
    2. After Hours 7:33
    3. St. Louis Blues 3:08
    4. I'm A Fool To Want You 8:52
    5. The Eighteenth Hole 3:31
    6. Still King 4:09

In 1969, naming this album The Soul Explosion may have been a move designed to send it on a trip aboard the lucrative soul marketing train that was delivering heavy profits. But there was nothing deceptive about the title; Illinois Jacquet was a master of soul long before the commercial trend of the Sixties. His was not the superimposed soul that was so often manufactured in those days. It was the kind that billows up from inside and commands attention for its honesty and forthrightness. Jacquet had been distributing soul since before his celebrated debut with Lionel Hampton in 1941. And with this jumpin’ eight-piece band he reminded listeners why one of his nicknames was “The King.”

with Joe Newman, Ernie Royal, Russell Jacquet, Matthew Gee, Frank Foster, Cecil Payne, Milt Buckner, Wally Richardson, Al Lucas, Al Foster

Find out more about Illinois Jacquet


Illinois Jacquet was the tenor player for Lionel Hampton who had a HUGE hit with his solo on the legendary… More
This exposition of the passion, swing, and heart that radiate from the soul of Illinois Jacquet brought the tenor saxophone master together with… More
Illinois Jacquet (1922-2002) became a household name in 1941 when Lionel Hampton’s “Flying Home” was a hit largely because of… More