The Very Best Of The Bill Evans Trio

The Bill Evans Trio

The Very Best Of The Bill Evans Trio
  • CAT # RIV-33755-02

    1. Autumn Leaves 6:00
    2. How Deep Is The Ocean 3:30
    3. What Is This Thing Called Love? 4:36
    4. Blue In Green (Take 3) 5:25
    5. Beautiful Love 5:03
    6. Nardis 5:48
    7. My Foolish Heart 4:57
    8. Gloria's Step (Take 2) 6:09
    9. Waltz for Debby (take 2) 7:00
    10. My Man's Gone Now 6:24
    11. Solar 8:54

The Very Best of The Bill Evans Trio captures the celebrated pianist at the front of his most influential trio, which included bassist Scott LaFaro and drummer Paul Motian. Recorded in three sessions between December 1959 and June 1961 and produced by Orrin Keepnews, the 11 tracks in this collection are culled from the trio's four Riverside albums, Portrait in Jazz, Explorations, Waltz for Debby, and Sunday at the Village Vanguard. This cohesive lineup came to an abrupt and tragic end less than two weeks after the last of the three sessions when LaFaro died in an auto accident in upstate New York.

"The selection of tracks for this set easily lives up to the appellation of ‘Very Best,'" says Neil Tesser, author of the liner notes for the Evans collection. "Half the program comprises uncontested examples of the Great American Songbook, each transformed subtly but utterly by Evans's ‘new jazz conception' (to borrow the title of his 1956 Riverside debut) . . . On The Very Best of the Bill Evans Trio, you hear the seeds, and the roots, and in the opinion of some, the full flower of the ‘piano trio' that proved to be so much more."

Find out more about The Bill Evans Trio


Concord Music Group is proud to announce the forthcoming vinyl reissue of Bill Evans’ The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961, one of… More
LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Concord Music Group will release five new titles in its Original Jazz Classics Remasters series. Enhanced by 24-bit… More
Concord Music Group releases three new titles in its Original Jazz Classics Remasters series. Enhanced with 24-bit remastering by Joe Tarantino… More
The second album by the original Bill Evans group was recorded after the pianist, bassist Scott LaFaro, and drummer Paul Motian had spent a year… More
Each title in the series features 24-bit remastering, original AND new liner notes, fully restored artwork, and bonus tracks (when available). More
This is the last album Bill Evans made for his first label. The fact alone would give this at least historical significance; and there is surely… More
Conventional wisdom, which in this case may be right, holds that Bill Evans' storied career peaked on June 25, 1961, a date that yielded two live… More
The Final Recordings Live at Keystone Korner, September 1980 The Last Waltz is a profoundly… More
The Final Recordings, Part 2: Live at the Keystone Korner, September 1980 … More
Bill Evans (1929-1980) and Stan Getz (1927-1991) were, after Evans's ex-employer Miles Davis, the great romantic improvisers of the postwar era… More
This is the second of two Riverside albums made up of selections recorded by the classic Bill Evans/Scott LaFaro/Paul Motian trio at their… More