Time Is Tight

Booker T. & The M.G.'s

Time Is Tight
  • CAT # 3SCD-4424-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Green Onions 2:52
    2. Behave Yourself 3:52
    3. Jellybread 2:27
    4. Home Grown 3:11
    5. Burnt Biscuits 2:16
    6. Chinese Checkers 2:25
    7. Mo' Onions 2:50
    8. Tic-Tac-Toe 2:33
    9. Fannie Mae 2:07
    10. Soul Dressing 2:24
    11. Can't Be Still 1:57
    12. Boot-Leg 2:04
    13. Outrage 2:31
    14. Be My Lady 2:33
    15. My Sweet Potato 2:45
    16. Hip Hug-Her 2:24
    17. Summertime 4:41
    18. Slim Jenkins' Place (A.K.A. Slim Jenkins' Joint) 2:25
    19. Groovin' 2:41
    20. Soul Sanction 2:36
    21. Pigmy 3:55
    22. Booker's Notion 2:25
    23. I Can Dig It 2:41
    24. Expressway (To Your Heart) 3:00
    25. You Don't Love Me 2:47
    26. Never My Love 2:45
    27. Blue On Green 2:26
    28. Ode To Billy Joe 3:59
    DISC TWO  
    1. Soul Limbo 2:23
    2. Heads Or Tails 2:30
    3. Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy 2:59
    4. Hang 'Em High 3:53
    5. Willow Weep For Me 6:55
    6. Over Easy 4:05
    7. Time Is Tight 4:56
    8. Johnny, I Love You 3:05
    9. Lady Madonna 3:36
    10. Mrs. Robinson 3:41
    11. Soul Clap '69 2:40
    12. I've Never Found A Girl (To Love Me Like You Do) 2:49
    13. You're All I Need To Get By 3:54
    14. It's Your Thing 3:02
    15. Something 3:33
    16. Sunday Sermon 3:53
    17. McLemore Avenue 1:00
    18. Medley: Sun King / Mean Mr. Mustard / Polythene Pam / She Came In Through The Bathroom Window / I Wa
    19. Chicken Pox 3:30
    20. Melting Pot 3:50
    1. Gotta Serve Somebody 6:28
    2. Lay Lady Lay
    3. MG Party 2:22
    4. Terrible Thing 2:31
    5. Hole In The Wall 2:48
    6. Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay 2:38
    7. Booker's Theme 3:06
    8. Albert's Rap 1:15
    9. Born Under A Bad Sign 3:05
    10. Medley: I'm With You / I Don't Mind / Oh, Baby, Don't You Weep 4:15
    11. Meditation 3:59
    12. Green Onions (Live) 2:48
    13. Sarasota Sunset (Live) 6:18
    14. I've Been Loving You Too Long (Live) 5:33
    15. Hang 'Em High (Live) 3:53
    16. Time Is Tight (Live) 4:54
    17. (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay 4:53

As the house rhythm section at Stax Records, Booker T. & the MGs all but single-handedly shaped the course of Southern soul music in the Sixties. Besides providing solid, consistently creative backing for the Memphis company's legion of great soul singers, the quartet created a body of instrumental recordings that, in the words of producer/annotator Rob Bowman, "always exuded a palpable sense of majesty, grace, and dignity." Contained herein are all of the band's major hits--from "Green Onions" in 1962 to "Melting Pot" in 1971–plus many classic album tracks, rare B-sides, and a cross-section of the reunited group's work in the Nineties--every selection a masterpiece of timbral nuance and tight timekeeping.

Booker T. & the MGs are:

Booker T. Jones–organ, piano
Steve Cropper–guitar
Lewie Steinberg or
Donald "Duck" Dunn–bass *
Al Jackson, Jr.–drums (through 1971)

* After November 1964 Lewie is replaced by Duck on bass (Lewie is the bassist on Disc 1, #1-11 and 13, and Disc 3, #3 and 4).

Find out more about Booker T. & The M.G.'s


Concord Music Group will release Booker T. & the MGs' Green Onions as part of its Stax Remasters series. Enhanced by 24-bit… More
Released in January 1970, McLemore Avenue is a tribute to Abbey Road, the landmark recording released by the Beatles the prior summer. More
This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 20 greatest hits including “Green Onions,” “Time Is Tight,”… More
Although the Sixties were a time of upheaval and change, one thing that remained constant was the laid-back, tightly locking Memphis sound of… More
About Stax Stax Records is synonymous with Southern soul music. Originally known as Satellite when it was founded in 1957 by Jim Stewart… More
Eight albums, excluding "best-of" collections, were issued during the nine too-brief years that keyboardist Booker T. Jones, guitarist… More
Johnny, I Love You; Cleveland Now, Children, Don't Get Weary; Tank's Lament, Blues in the Gutter, We've Got Johnny Wells, Down at Ralph's… More
Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy; La La Means I Love You, Hang 'Em High, Willow Weep for Me, Over Easy, Soul Limbo, Eleanor Rigby, Heads or… More
Released in 1971, Melting Pot was the final album by the finest soul instrumental combo of all time: the original Booker T. & the… More
On 1969's The Booker T. Set, the famous Memphis group placed its distinctive stamp on 11 pop and r&b hits of the period, including… More
Medley (Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight/The End/Here Comes the Sun/Come Together), Something, Medley (Because/You Never Give Me… More