Traneing In [Rudy Van Gelder Remaster]

John Coltrane With The Red Garland Trio

Traneing In Rudy Van Gelder Remaster
  • CAT # PRCD-30156-25

    1. Traneing In 12:33
    2. Slow Dance 5:26
    3. Bass Blues 7:44
    4. You Leave Me Breathless 7:22
    5. Soft Lights And Sweet Music 4:40

Recorded in one day (August 23, 1957) at Rudy Van Gelder’s studio in Hackensack, NJ. this date of ballads and burners features the young tenor saxophonist John Coltrane leading a quartet comprised of pianist Red Garland, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Arthur Taylor. Liner notewriter (original and reissue) Ira Gitler remarks, “In the ‘50s I was called upon to name many of the untitled songs at Prestige. ‘Traneing In’ came to me because of the way [Coltrane] homed in after Garland’s opening solo [on the song].” This album is significant in that it took place halfway through Coltrane’s break with Miles Davis’ classic quintet of the ‘50s and it was the same year that the tenor saxophonist hooked up with Thelonious Monk to record the recently discovered live Carnegie Hall masterpiece.

Find out more about John Coltrane With The Red Garland Trio