Treme: Music From The HBO Original Series - Season 2

Various Artists

Treme Music From The HBO Original Series Season 2
  • CAT # 11661-9130-2

    1. New Orleans After The City 4:12
    2. From The Corner To The Block 3:44
    3. Carved In Stone 3:54
    4. Sisters 3:29
    5. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most 4:03
    6. Heavy Henry 3:20
    7. Mama Roux 3:58
    8. What Is New Orleans 2:46
    9. Take It To The Street 3:09
    10. Road Home 2:42
    11. Oye, Isabel 4:07
    12. Long Hard Journey Home 4:40
    13. Carnival Time 3:30
    14. La Danse De Mardi Gras 3:20
    15. Ferry Man 2:45
    16. Frenchmen Street Blues 3:32
    17. Hu Ta Nay 5:20
    18. You Might Be Surprised 4:31

New Orleans is one of the country’s richest sources of traditional music, a city which pioneered jazz and the blues. From creators/executive producers David Simon and Eric Overmyer (HBO’s The Wire®), the critically-acclaimed HBO® series Treme® interweaves stories of musicians and other residents who are trying to rebuild their lives while also preserving the city’s unique musical heritage and cultural traditions after Hurricane Katrina. Releasing Treme, Music from the HBO Original Series, Season Two, offers a breathtaking sampling of the music from many of New Orleans musicians and other acclaimed artists that is such an integral part of each episode of the series. The soundtrack will retail for $18.98 and will be available for digital download.

Treme, Music from the HBO Original Series, Season Two revels in the abounding riches of New Orleans music today. Here are brass bands, roots rock, traditional jazz, R&B and Cajun music, with a special nod to the city’s piano tradition (with Henry Butler, Jon Cleary, Dr. John, Tom McDermott, David Torkanowsky each prominently featured). Also included is the once-in-a-lifetime collaboration between neo-funksters Galactic, the iconic Dirty Dozen Brass Band, and rapper Juvenile.

Recorded live on the streets and in the clubs, these recordings capture the indefatigable spirit of America’s greatest musical city. It would be difficult to imagine a more compelling overview of contemporary New Orleans music. The soundtrack includes 18 tracks featuring music heard throughout the groundbreaking series over the course of its second season. The songs featured include:

1 New Orleans After The City - Hot 8 Brass Band
2 From The Corner To The Block - Galactic, Dirty Dozen Brass Band, Juvenile
3 Carved In Stone - The Subdudes
4 Sisters - John Boutté
5 Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most - David Torkanowsky & Lucia Micarelli
6 Heavy Henry - Tom McDermott
7 Mama Roux - Henry Butler
8 (Every Time I Hear) That Mellow Saxophone - Cyril Neville & Tribe 13
9 Take It To The Street - Rebirth Brass Band
10 Road Home - DJ Davis & The Brassy Knoll
11 Oye, Isabel - The Iguanas
12 Long Hard Journey Home - The Radiators
13 Carnival Time - Al "Carnival Time" Johnson & The Soul Apostles
14 La Danse de Mardi Gras - Steve Riley, Steve Earle, Eunice Revellers
15 Ferry Man - Aurora Nealand & The Royal Roses
16 Frenchmen Street Blues - Jon Cleary
17 Hu-Ta-Nay - Donald Harrison & Friends
18 You Might Be Surprised - Dr. John

Find out more about Various Artists


Various Artists

Take Me To The River

Stax Records/Concord Music Group is proud to announce the release of Take Me To the River: Music From The Motion Picture. The companion… More

Various Artists

Sweetheart 2014

Just in time for Valentine's Day comes Sweetheart 2014, a collection of indelible, handpicked covers from a remarkable group of modern… More

Various Artists

A Slow Jams Jazz Christmas

From the original producers of the Slow Jams series comes a traditional take on the romance and splendor of the holiday season… More
Settle around the fireplace this holiday season with Mad Men Christmas: Music from and Inspired by the Hit TV Series on AMC. Produced by… More
The twists and turns of the American political system have long been turned into storied tales of deception, turmoil and mystery chronicling the… More
Star-Studded Cast Includes Elvis Costello, Sheryl Crow, Rosanne Cash, Neko Case, Kris Kristofferson, Dave & Phil Alvin, Taj Mahal, Ryan Bingham… More
Beginning today, the all-star recording of Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hear Music/Concord Music Group), the highly anticipated… More

Various Artists

True Blues

Guy Davis, Shemekia Copeland, Corey Harris, Alvin Youngblood Hart, and Taj Mahal join forces for True Blues, a collaboration of the best blues… More
Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac is a striking 17-track collection of Fleetwood Mac covers from a diverse band of… More
Concord Records will release Smooth Jazz Hits: Ultimate Grooves, the latest installment in the series of smooth jazz… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
Smooth Jazz Hits for Lovers. A handpicked collection of a dozen, choice, romantic tracks by the best artists in Smooth Jazz. Featuring… More