Truth PRCD 24221 2
  • CAT # PRCD-24221-25

    1. Snake Eyes 5:24
    2. Never Let Me Go 4:56
    3. Groovin' And A-Groovin' 5:04
    4. What A Diff'rence A Day Made 5:58
    5. Soul Dance 3:58
    6. Here's That Rainy Day 6:03
    7. Teardrops From My Eyes 4:58
    8. Blue 7 5:27
    9. Cissy Strut 8:13
    10. On The Avenue 9:36
    11. Wadin' 8:47
    12. Pulpit 5:09
    13. For Your Love 5:24

Whether playing blues, ballads, bebop, or boogaloos, tenor saxophonist Houston Person is instantly recognizable for his big, beefy tone and his alternately tender and tough attack. During his six years at Prestige Records, Person helped to lay the foundation of what is today known as acid jazz. It's an unpretentious, groove-based style of improvised music that speaks directly to the feet, but Person also turns it into soul food for the ears. The selections from the 1968 and 1970 sessions that constitute this reissue are among the most satisfying the South Carolina-born tenor man ever committed to tape.

with Billy Gardner, Boogaloo Joe Jones, Frankie Jones, Sonny Phillips, Billy Butler, Bob Bushnell, Buddy Caldwell

Find out more about Houston Person


Recorded four months apart in 1967, Chocomotive and Trust in Me, which are joined herein, were the second and third albums made… More
The early 1970s was a particularly fertile period for crossover instrumentals, in which top-notch jazz players, often with funky backing in part… More
with Babe Clark, Cecil Bridgewater, Billy Butler, Ernie Hayes, Gerry Jemmott, Bernard Purdie, Buddy Caldwell, Victor Paz, Hank Jones, Jimmy… More
Two of Houston Person's finest 1970s albums for Prestige, Person to Person! and Houston Express, are combined here for the… More
Houston Person's immersion in the subculture of organ-tenor saxophone groups made him an invisible man to jazz critics and other tastemakers who… More
Although none of the five LPs Houston Person recorded for Prestige prior to Goodness! had come close to being a hit, Bob Weinstock stuck… More