Two Sides Of Dave Van Ronk

Dave Van Ronk

Two Sides Of Dave Van Ronk
  • CAT # FCD-24772-2

    1. Cake Walking Babies From Home 3:00
    2. Ace In The Hole 2:54
    3. St. Louis Tickle 3:26
    4. Death Letter Blues 4:49
    5. If I Had To Do It All Over Again I'd Do It All Over You 3:33
    6. Whoa Back Buck 3:40
    7. Sister Kate 3:04
    8. Kansas City Blues 2:10
    9. Green Rocky Road 3:39
    10. See See Rider 5:19
    11. Rocks And Gravel 4:28
    12. Hesitation Blues 3:33

Dave Van Ronk brilliantly, though personably, embodied all the brashest and most mercurial qualities of the folk revival movement. He played and sang the country blues of such giants as Brownie McGhee and Jim Jackson with what seemed like easy aplomb. He brought his own unique voice to tunes that Ma Rainey and Billie Holiday had made famous, and recast them as Van Ronk tunes. He pioneered the playing of the classic rags of Scott Joplin on solo guitar, galvanizing younger players like Eric Schoenberg, Stefan Grossman, and Duck Baker. "Sister Kate," on In the Tradition, one of two albums reissued herein, finds Dave accompanied by a wailing Dixieland band. There is real variety here, but also a consistent quality, both of voice and vision. You'll find Dave Van Ronk refreshing, remarkable, and a gas to listen to.

with the Red Onion Jazz Band

Recorded in 1963 and 1981.

Find out more about Dave Van Ronk


Reissue coincides with December release of the Coen Brothers’ new film Inside Llewyn Davis, echoes the great Van Ronk’s life More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comSomebody Else, Not Me has improved like a fine wine with the passage of time. Dave has… More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comWithout a doubt, this is Dave's greatest single album. Every song perfectly displays… More