Walk Right In

Gus Cannon

Walk Right In MP3
  • CAT # SCD-8603-25

    1. Narration 2:59
    2. Kill It 2:11
    3. Walk Right In 2:30
    4. Salty Dog 2:23
    5. Going Around The Mountain 1:58
    6. Ol' Hen 2:34
    7. Gonna Raise A Ruckus Tonight 2:20
    8. Ain't Gonna Rain No More 2:51
    9. Boll-Weevil 2:42
    10. Come On Down To My House 1:25
    11. Make Me A Pallet On Your Floor 3:07
    12. Get Up In The Morning Soon 2:06
    13. Crawdad Hole 2:27

Because only 500 copies were pressed, legendary Memphis banjo picker and singer Gus Cannon's 1963 album for Stax Records has been heard--let alone seen--by very few record collectors, making it among the rarest of all blues LPs. The Mississippi-born musician was 79 years old at the time of this recording, made shortly after a Greenwich Village folk trio called the Rooftop Singers took "Walk Right In"--a catchy Cannon composition first cut by Cannon's Jug Stompers for Victor Records in 1930--to the top of the pop charts. Cannon reprised "Walk Right In" and 11 other raggy numbers for Stax from his vast repertoire, along with some fascinating, humor-laced reminiscences. Will Shade, Cannon's one-time rival in the jug-band business, is the jug blower, and Milton Roby supplies rural rhythms on washboard.

with Will Shade, Milton Roby

Find out more about Gus Cannon