Work Song [Keepnews Collection]

Nat Adderley

Work Song Keepnews Collection MP3
  • CAT # RCD-30506-25

    1. Work Song 4:15
    2. Pretty Memory 3:54
    3. I've Got A Crush On You 2:56
    4. Mean To Me 5:01
    5. Fallout 4:55
    6. Sack Of Woe 4:28
    7. My Heart Stood Still 6:26
    8. Violets For Your Furs 3:49
    9. Scrambled Eggs 3:19

Orrin's commentary (from his original liner notes): "There are two very good reasons why this album, which at this writing is just a couple of years short of being a half-century old, remains one of my warmest recording memories. Undoubtedly the more important reason is that this really represents the coming of age of Nat Adderley, a man I will always consider among the most adventurous and intelligent players and leaders I have ever worked with. But to step back and evaluate this album in a very personal way, it is half of what must be one of the most complicated and most rewarding weeks of recording activity I have ever experienced."

Personnel: Nat Adderley on cornet and support cast including pianist Bobby Timmons, guitarist Wes Montgomery, cellist Sam Jones, bassist Percy Heath, drummer Louis Hayes, and others.

Key songs: "Work Song," "Sack of Woe"

Orrin on The Keepnews Collection:

This is a series of reissues that can be described as largely centered on my incredibly long (even to me) career as a jazz producer, contributing to the careers of some of the most significant jazz performers of our day. The series follows a specific set of ground rules. In each case the original product is preserved-cover art, the notes, and the entire initial recorded content, in the exact original sequence-and it is now presented with the sonic benefits of 24-bit remastering from the original master tapes. Alternate takes or originally unissued numbers, when available, appear as bonus tracks. In some instances I've added to the total lineup a never-used version that may have been recorded forty or more years ago. When that occasionally allows you to hear for the first time a "new" performance by a long-departed artist, be aware that I join you in considering this a truly wonderful addition. Finally, I have written a complete set of new commentaries, digging back into my memories of those often very good old days to tell a few more stories about this remarkable music and its people. On the whole, I am unreasonably and unshakably proud of the results.

Find out more about Nat Adderley


Whether playing with his alto saxophonist brother Julian (Cannonball) or leading his own bands, Nat Adderley's musicality and good humor have for… More
Nat Adderley (1931-2000) always ran a fine band, whether his own working group or an all-star gathering like the one on A Little New York Midtown… More
Nat Adderley led a double creative life at Riverside: featured on the highly successful working-group albums led by his brother Cannonball, and… More
Deluxe Japanese Import Edition. Digitally Remastered CD In a Collectible Miniature Cardboard LP Sleeve. Limited Quantities Available. More