Wow... / Bound To Happen

William Bell

Wow Bound To Happen
  • CAT # SCD-88032-25

    1. I Can't Make It (All By Myself) 3:23
    2. Till My Back Ain't Got No Bone 4:24
    3. All For The Love Of A Woman 3:12
    4. My Door Is Always Open 4:14
    5. A Penny For Your Thoughts 3:07
    6. You'll Want Diamonds 3:14
    7. Winding, Winding Road 3:16
    8. Somebody's Gonna Get Hurt 3:34
    9. I Forgot To Be Your Lover 2:41
    10. I'll Be Home 3:41
    11. Western Union Man 3:02
    12. My Whole World Is Falling Down 3:08
    13. Everyday People 3:24
    14. Johnny, I Love You 3:00
    15. All God's Children Got Soul 2:57
    16. Happy 2:34
    17. By The Time I Get To Phoenix 6:45
    18. Bring The Curtain Down 2:27
    19. A Smile Can't Hide (A Broken Heart) 2:32
    20. Born Under A Bad Sign 3:12
    21. I Got A Sure Thing 2:19

William Bell was the first male vocalist ever signed to Stax Records and helped set the stylistic direction Otis Redding and others took at the Memphis company during the Sixties. Bell and Booker T. Jones forged a highly empathetic songwriting partnership that yielded a string of hits for Bell, as well as the classic "Born Under a Bad Sign" for Albert King. Bound to Happen was the last–and, in many ways, most brilliant–collaboration between Bell and Jones, who produced the disc and overdubbed many of the instruments himself; besides "I Forgot to Be Your Lover," Bell's biggest Stax hit, it contains the singer's personalized treatment of "Born Under a Bad Sign." Wow..., cut two years later, mostly in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, was largely overlooked at the time of its release; it stands up nevertheless as a minor masterpiece of funky Southern soul.

I Can't Make It (All By Myself), Till My Back Ain't Got No Bone, All for the Love of a Woman, My Door Is Always Open, A Penny for Your Thoughts, You'll Want Diamonds, Winding, Winding Road, Somebody's Gonna Get Hurt, I Forgot to Be Your Lover, I'll Be Home, Western Union Man, My Whole World Is Falling Down, Everyday People, Johnny, I Love You, All God's Children Got Soul, Happy, By the Time I Get to Phoenix, Bring the Curtain Down, A Smile Can't Hide (A Broken Heart), Born Under a Bad Sign, I Got a Sure Thing

Find out more about William Bell


This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 20 greatest hits including “You Don’t Miss Your Water,”… More
With its distinctive combination of black gospel and white country elements, William Bell's 1961 hit "You Don't Miss Your Water"… More
William Bell, as critic Clive Anderson observed, “preceded [Otis Redding] as one of the first and best exponents of the soul singer’s… More
She Won't Be Like You, All That I Am, Let's Do Something Together, Forever Wouldn't Be Too Long, You Got Me Where You Want Me (slow version)… More
I Forgot to Be Your Lover, Private Number (with Judy Clay), Born Under a Bad Sign, My Kind of Girl, Lonely Soldier, Save Us, A Penny for Your… More
Singer-songwriter William Bell was the first male vocalist to have a hit on Stax Records--1961's "You Don't Miss Your Water"--and he… More