Zodico Blues & Boogie

Clifton Chenier

Zodico Blues Boogie
  • CAT # SPCD-7039-25

    1. Boppin' The Rock 2:15
    2. Eh, Petite Fille 2:41
    3. The Cat's Dreamin' 2:09
    4. Squeeze-Box Boogie 1:57
    5. The Things I Did For You (Take 1) 2:51
    6. Think It Over (Take 4) 2:18
    7. Zodico Stomp 2:03
    8. Yesterday (I Lost My Best Friend) [Take 4] 2:50
    9. Chenier's Boogie (Take 3) 1:59
    10. I'm On My Way (Back Home To You) [Take 2] 2:17
    11. All Night Long (Take 8) 2:16
    12. Opelousas Hop (Take 3) 2:25
    13. I'm On My Way (Back Home To You) [Take 1 And 2] 2:17
    14. Wherever You Go I'll Go (Take 2) 1:53
    15. Opelousas Hop (Take 4) 2:25
    16. Clifton's Dreamin' (Take 3) 2:54
    17. Chenier's Boogie (Take 4) 1:59
    18. Wherever You Go I'll Go (Take 6) 1:53
    19. Ay-Te Te Fee (Take 8) 2:41
    20. All Night Long (Take 7) 2:16

Clifton Chenier (1928-1987) may not have invented Zydeco (or "Zodico," as it's sometimes spelled), an accordion-driven, blues-drenched variant of Cajun music, but he almost single-handedly defined the style as we know it today. Compiled and annotated by British researcher Ray Topping, this compact disc of Chenier's mid-Fifties Specialty sessions--the ones that first helped to bring him attention beyond the bayous--brings together his three singles for the label, two cuts from his Specialty LP, and a dozen previously unissued takes, presented for the first time in their raw, rollicking glory, without overdubs or edits, the way the King Zydeco laid them down nearly four decades ago.

Find out more about Clifton Chenier


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.