Zoot Sims Quartets

Zoot Sims Quartet

Zoot Sims Quartets
  • CAT # OJCCD-242-2

    1. Zoot Swings The Blues 8:35
    2. Zoot Swings The Blues 8:35
    3. Trotting 3:45
    4. I Wonder Who 2:34
    5. It Had To Be You 2:45
    6. My Silent Love 2:48
    7. Jane-o 2:40
    8. Dancing In The Dark 3:27
    9. Memories Of You 4:19
    10. East Of The Sun (West Of The Moon) 11:03
    11. Trotting 3:45
    12. Trotting 3:45

These early Fifties sessions are reminders that although Zoot Sims continued to deepen and expand during the next 30 years, he was already a vital force of great melodic sense and relenting swing. The first date, from 1950, with John Lewis on piano, features “Memories of You,” the theme song of one of Zoot’s former big band leaders, Sonny Dunham. The second session, from 1951, is particularly notable because it contains “Zoot Swings the Blues” and “East of the Sun,” in which Zoot, spurred by the drumming of Art Blakey, stretches out in the first time the LP format was utilized for extended performances in the studio.

with John Lewis, Curley Russell, Don Lamond, Harry Biss, Clyde Lombardi, Art Blakey

Find out more about Zoot Sims Quartet