Concord Music Group News

NEWS 29 Jul 2011

Carole King records first holiday album

USA Today Lifeline Live

Carole King records first holiday album

With her little help from her daughter, Carole King, 69, will release her first holiday album, A Holiday Carole, on Nov. 1.

Produced by King's daughter Louise Goffin, the album, to be released by Hear Music/Concord Music Group, will feature 12 songs - a mix of sacred and secular, standards and new material. One of the highlights of the album for King is Chanukah Prayer.

"Louise had the brilliant idea to take the Chanukah prayer that I learned from my parents, and they learned from their parents, and back through generations," King says in the announcement. "She said 'I want to record you singing that and I'm going to build a track around it.'"

The result, she promises, is a warm, jazz-inflected tune that brings together three generations on vocals: King, her daughter, and her grandson.

A Holiday Carole tracklist:

1. My Favorite Things (Oscar Hammerstein II and Richard Rodgers)

2. Carol of the Bells (Mykola Leontovych)

3. Sleigh Ride (Leroy Anderson and Mitchell Paris)

4. Christmas Paradise (Louise Goffin, George Noriega and Jodi Marr)

5. Every Day Will Be Like A Holiday (William Bell and Booker T. Jones)

6. Chanukah Prayer (Traditional, Arrangement by Louise Goffin and Lee Curreri)

7. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Ralph Blane and Hugh Martin)

8. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm (Irving Berlin)

9. Christmas In The Air (Louise Goffin and Jodi Marr)

10. Do You Hear What I Hear (Gloria Shayne and Noel Regney)

11. This Christmas (Donny Hathaway and Nadine McKinnor)

12. New Year's Day (Louise Goffin and Guy Chambers)


07 Nov 2008

Anjulie Goes 'Boom'