Concord Music Group News

NEWS 24 Mar 2008

Concord Jazz to Release a New Album from Scott Hamilton & Friends, "Across the Tracks," on May 6, 2008

On May 6, 2008 Concord Jazz will release a new album from Scott Hamilton & Friends titled Across the Tracks. The 9-track album finds some of the best musicians accompanying the tenor sax-playing Hamilton including Grammy® nominee Duke Robillard (guitar), Gene Ludwig (organ), Chuck Riggs (drums), and Doug James (baritone saxophone). Produced by Bob Porter, Across the Tracks was recorded, mixed, and mastered "across the tracks" from New York City at the famed New Jersey studio of legendary jazz engineer Rudy Van Gelder, making this the first time Hamilton and Van Gelder have ever worked together. Another first for Hamilton is having longtime friend and collaborator Duke Robillard appear on all nine tracks of the album. While the two have appeared as guests on each other's recordings over the years, they have never played on an entire album together.

Hamilton first began recording with Concord Jazz in 1977 when the then 22 year old burst onto the scene with his debut as a leader on Scott Hamilton Is a Good Wind Who Is Blowing Us No Ill (a title inspired by a line from an article penned by the eminent jazz critic Leonard Feather, who was paraphrasing the lyric to Billie Holiday's lament "Ill Wind" in praising the young saxophonist). Ever since his auspicious debut in1977, Hamilton has continued to record new music for the Concord Jazz imprint, longer than any other Concord recording artist. All total, Hamilton has recorded over 60 albums for Concord as either a leader or co-leader and continues to be praised for his beautiful, warm tenor saxophone sound and effortlessly swinging style.

Track listing:

1. Deuces Wild (Sonny Stitt) - (6:24)

2. Parker's Pals (Leo Parker) - (5:35)

3. Save Your Love For Me (Buddy Johnson) - (5:41)

4. Cop Out (Duke Ellington) - (8:15)

5. Intermission Riff (Ray Wetzel) - (5:34)

6. Sweet Slumber (Lucky Millinder-Al Neiburg-Henri Woode) - (4:25)

7. Something For Red (Scott Hamilton) - (7:48)

8. Blue Turning Gray Over You (Fats Waller-Andy Razaf) - (8:58)

9. Memories Of You (Eubie Blake-Andy Razaf) - (4:09)


07 Nov 2008

Anjulie Goes 'Boom'